Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

University Distinguished Achievement Award

Presented annually, the University Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes nationally distinguished achievement in any field of enduring significance to society. Recipients:

1983 Clifton C. Garvin Jr., chairman and CEO, Exxon Corp.
1984 Clifford A. Cutchins III, chairman and CEO, Sovran Bank and Sovran Finanial
1985 Charles H. Burchard, dean emeritus, College of Architecture and Urban Studies
1986 J. Kenneth Robinson, businessman, former 7th District Congressman
1987 Thomas L. Phillips, chairman and CEO, Raytheon Company (designated in 1986)
1988 No award recommended
1989 Alexander F. Giacco, former rector, board of visitors; former chief executive officer, Hercules, Inc.; chief executive officer, Himont, Inc. and Montedison, S.P.A.
1990 Gen. Thomas C. Richards, former deputy commander in chief, U.S. European Command; member of a presidential commission to President George Bush
1991 Robert B. Delano, retired president, American Farm Bureau Federation
     John Grado Jr., owner, chairman, and CEO, Technographics, Inc.
1992 Mary Virginia Jones, director of design engineering, Atlantic Research Corp.
1993 Owen B. Pickett, member, U.S. House of Representatives
1994 James E. Turner Jr., president, General Dynamics Electric Boat Division
1995 Olivio Ferrari, (posthumously) Alumni Distinguished Professor, College of Architecture and Urban Studies; founder, CAUS study abroad program
  Richard B. Tallbot (posthumously) founding dean, Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine; director, Office of New Animal Drug Evaluation, U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
1996 Sidney C. Smith Jr., former chief of cardiology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; president, American Heart Association 
1997 William H. Daughtrey Jr., founder, president, and CEO, Princeton Associates
1998 Roger K. Crouch, visiting scientist, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; astronaut; March 1997 flight, United States Space Shuttle Columbia
1999 John H. Chichester, member, Senate of Virginia
2000 George C. “Jack” Guynn, president and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
2001 Charles M. Forbes, fundraiser, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center; former vice president for Development and University Relations at Virginia Tech
2002 William E. Jamerson, president, J. E. Jamerson & Sons Inc.
2003 James Gills, founder and director, St. Luke’s Cataract and Laser Institute
2004 Maj. Gen. Archie S. Cannon Jr., retired deputy chief of staff, personnel, U.S. Army Europe and Seventh Army
2005 William H. Goodwin Jr., chairman of the board, CCA Industries Inc.; founder, Commonwealth Foundation for Cancer Research
2006 Dr. Evaleen Jones, family practitioner; assistant professor, Stanford University’s School of Medicine; founder, Child Family Health International
2007 Homer H. Hickam, author of beset-selling fiction and non-fiction novels; retired engineer, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
2008 Gene James, retired president and CEO, Southern States Cooperative
2009 Henry A. Long Sr., co-founder, Long and Foster; founder, Scott-Long Construction; founder Henry A. Long Company
2010 Retired U.S. Air Force General Lance Smith
2011 Betty P. Chao, the founder, president, and chief executive officer of Westech International Inc.
2012 Joseph R. Loring, founder of the engineering firm LORING
2013 Tracy D. Wilkins, an emeritus member of Virginia Tech’s faculty, former university leader, and co-founder of the TechLab company
2014 Alumnus Robert Lewis Turner, an architect who designed multiple buildings abroad for Skidmore, Owings & Merrill and in his own practice
2015 William Lewis Jr., Virginia Tech’s first Rhodes Scholar and a retired partner of McKinsey & Company